West Tennessee welcomes Daisy Cleaves as TRTA president for 2017 - 2018.

Joe Frensley and Velma Lois Jones were delegates to the NEA-Retired Annual Meeting and NEA RA in Boston in July 2017.

West TN dues are fifty (50) cents per member.  Treasurers should make checks for WTRTA dues payable to Jerry Cocke. Please mail to Jerry at 212 Cherokee Drive, Memphis, TN 38111.



 Regional Associations

Gerald Lillard was elected TRTA President-elect for 2017 - 2018.  Congratulations, Gerald.


Past TRTA President Installs Officers of the West TN RetiredTteachers' Association for the 2016-2018 term at its Spring meeting. From left to right: Florestine Evans; Mary Williams, Secretary; Joe Frensley, President and TRTA Board Member for 2016 - 2018, Daisy Cleaves, Immediate Past President and newly elected TRTA President-Elect; Jerry Cocke Treasurer; and Laverne Dickinson, President-Elect. 


Important Dates for West TN presidents:
October 9,2017 - West TN Leadership Fall Meeting,

First Baptist Church, Jackson

March 12, 2018 - West TN Spring Leadership Meeting First Baptist Church, Jackson

June 12, 2018 - TRTA Representative Assembly, Embassy Suites, Murfreesboro, 10 AM

 A tentative date for the West TN RTA meeting is scheduled for April at Discovery Park in Union City.  More information to come in upcoming meetings and emails.


Counties in West Tennessee, the Gulf Coastal Plain west of the Tennessee River are:

Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry(Paris-Henry County Retired Teachers' Association),Lake, Lauderdale, Madison (Jackson-Madison County RTA ),McNairy, Obion(Union City and Obion County),Shelby (Memphis-Shelby County), Tipton (Covington-Tipton County), and Weakley.

All local associations who have not paid their dues should mail a check immediately to West Tennessee Treasurer, Jerry Cocke, 212 Cherokee Drive, Memphis, TN 38111-2638.  Dues are 50 cents per member.  

The West TN Meeting is Tuesday, April 17, in Union City at the First Baptist Church across from Discovery Park.  The doors will open at 9:00 and the business meeting begins at 9:30.  Lunch will be at 11 and then Discovery Park.  The deadline to receive the check for $30.95 is April 5,  $20 for lunch and $10.95 for Discovery Park entrance.  Mail checks with list of those paying for both to Jerry Cocke or Joe Frensley no later than April 5.  


​Just to keep you in the loop.  Jane Paschall is mailing a check to Jerrye for 24 lunches from Obion County and 2 tickets.  Please let me know the numbers for lunch as soon as possible.  I also need numbers for the tickets from each group and if they are traveling by bus.  I think they will sort tickets by groups (not sure).  I know Shelby and Tipton have a bus.  Not sure about Boliver






The purposes of the WTRTA shall be:

1.To promote the economic, social, and professional of West Tennessee retired teachers, and to act on their behalf on matters involving their needs.
2. To maintain affiliation with the NEA-Retired Teachers' Association, TN Retired Teachers' Association (TRTA), and the WTRTA chapters of the Retired Teachers' Association.
3. To collaborate with other educational support groups for the enhancement of educational opportunities for children, youth, and adults.
4. To support and work for legislation that improves benefits for all retired educators


Looking good!

Anyone who wants to be an officer should contact Joe Frensley before April 17.

 Tennessee Retired Teachers' Association

Donna Cotner, TRTA Executive Director, presents the 2017 Executive Director's Award to Sequatchie County Retired Teachers' Association.  Congratulations, SCRTA!

Congrats to Mrs. Hattye Yarbrough, a member of the Covington Retired Teachers' Association.  

Mrs. Yarbrough is a contributor to the displays in theNational Museum of African American

History and Culture.  https://goo.gl/images/r7TltU



Dr. Alan Kinningham received a Tribute Award from the West Point Band 9-11 Project,

Novus Vox Nolus Musical Production Company.  Dr. Kinningham is a member of the

Memphis/Shelby County RTA.

Two TTU students accepted scholarships

and charmed their benefactors.  

Demetria Kalodimos, WSMV TV News Anchor,
keynoted the event. The group remembered
more than 100 friends and colleagues in a 
moving memorial tribute.   Mickey Freeman
inspired with her story. George McCrary

expressed appreciation. Nellye Lathom was recognized for her numerous contributions.