Tennessee Retired Teachers' Association

About US

Retired educators met in the conference room of the Chattanooga Power Board to form the first chapter of retired educators in Tennessee in May 1957.  Five months later on October 25, 1957,  retirees from East Tennessee met and formed the Tennessee Retired Teachers' Association. The following purposes were adopted.

1.  To promote the economic, social, and professional interest of retired teachers in matters involving their 


2.  To cooperate with the local and sectional retired teachers associations, Tennessee Education Association

     (TEA), National Education Association (NEA), and the National Education Association-Retired (NEA-

     Retired (NEA-Retired);

3.  To act as a clearinghouse in circulation of information to retired teachers as to the latest educational and

     legislative developments that concern them;

4.  To enlist the support of the active teacher's organizations, boards of education, parent-teacher

     organizations, and community, civic, and state groups for all children and youth;

5.  To initiate, promote, and support action at the state and national levels for the improvement of living

     conditions for older Americans in cooperation with the programs of the NEA, NEA-Retired, and any

     other organizations which have similar goals as determined by the Representative Assembly or

     Executive Board.

Comprised of 89 local chapters and approximately 9,000 members, TRTA has remained dedicated to the fulfillment of these purposes since its inception in 1957.  

The benefits enjoyed by current retirees were earned by the efforts of those who preceded them. Membership in TRTA ensures that those who succeed them will enjoy similar or better benefits in their retirement years.  Help us to continue this worthy work.  Join your local retired teachers' association today!


We congratulate the following local associations organized in 1967-1968!

    1967                        1968                1968                      1968                   1968                       Dekalb                    Benton         Hamblen              Lincoln               Roane
 Fentress                  Bristol          Henderson           Marshall             Rutherford
 Robertson              Claiborne     Hickman              Morgan              Scott
 Smith                      Franklin       Humphreys          Overton            Unicoi
 Sumner                   Gibson         Johnson                Polk                    Washington
 Warren                    Giles            Kingsport              Putnam              Wayne